Monday, February 18, 2019

2019 Board Elects Officers

The 2019 Margaret Place Board met on February 12, 2019 and elected the following officers and committee chairs.

  • Michele Mitchel, President
  • Burns Mulhearn, Vice President, Safety Committee Chair
  • Bryan Boudreaux, Treasurer
  • Sadie Shearman, Secretary, Welcome Committee Chair
  • Kym Digiovani
  • Mary Kay Hopkins, Communications Committee Chair
  • Joy Pace, Beautification Commitee Chair

Annual Meeting Held

The Annual Meeting was held on December 15, 2018 at Willie Mount's Lake House. 

Refreshments were provided and all were able to enjoy the Christmas boat parade and fireworks as the date coincided with the city sponsored events. 

President Michele Mitchell reviewed 2108 and all agreed that the Porch Crawl was a tremendous success. She also expressed thanks to

  • Willie Mount for generously donating the roses and landscape clean up around the brick columns. 
  • Outgoing Board members Lynn Boudreaux and Ashley DeLaureal for their service.

MK Hopkins gave an update regarding the Lake Charles Area Neighborhood Association (LCANA) and provided participation forms for those interested in taking part. Eddie Bergen volunteered to assist in recruiting more participants.

Burns Mulhearn and Mary Kay Hopkins were elected to 3 year terms.

Period Street Poles

The period street sign polls were installed in 2014 thanks to committee chair Donny Pitzer and committee member Mary Kay Hopkins.

The effort was supported by a grant from the Lake Charles/SWLA Convention & Visitors Bureau as administered by the Arts Council of SWLA and the following:

Kathryn and Tom Filo

Phyllis and Billy Loftin

Elizabeth and Darren Martel

Willie Mount

Christine Perry

Sheila and Drew Ranier

Shawn and Eric Stevens

Margaret Place Historical District Membership